Exeter City Twouncillors

I have been impressed in recent weeks at the usefulness of Twitter in engaging with councillors and other movers and shakers in and around Exeter City Council. Within limits, though, as you’ll be able to see from the list below arranged by political party. (Please let me know if I’ve missed any.) It’s a shame that few of the @ExeterTories are individually on Twitter, not least because two of them are the councillors in my ward. Maybe it’s a policy, but they and their ‘constituents’ are missing out.

@TweetyHall aimed to  “Getting councillors out of the Town Hall and onto the Tweets”. On its [now defunct] website it said “We are passionately committed to local democracy and see Twitter as one key way to connect local residents with views and opinions on their local area with the people empowered to help them do something about it. TweetyHall helps join the dots.” Sounds good to me… Who’s doing this now?

Here’s my Exeter City Twitter list, to which you can subscribe to follow the conversation, and all councillors’ contact details on the Exeter City Council website.

Councillor Political party Ward Twitter handle
Andrew Leadbetter Conservative St Loyes  
David Henson Conservative St Loyes  
Jake Donovan Conservative Pennsylvania @CllrJakeDonovan
John Winterbottom Conservative St Leonards  
Lee Mottram Conservative Duryard @parklanegarden
Margaret Baldwin Conservative Topsham  
Norman Shiel Conservative St Leonards  
Percy Prowse Conservative Duryard  
Rob Newby Conservative Topsham  
Tyna Crow Conservative Heavitree @tynacrow
Yolonda Henson Conservative Polsloe  
Catherine Dawson Labour Mincinglake @cllrdawson
Gill Tippins Labour Priory @GillTippins
Greg Sheldon Labour Heavitree @CllrGregSheldon
Heather Morris Labour Cowick @CLLRMORRIS
Ian Martin Labour Mincinglake @ian0martin
Keith Owen Labour St James  
Lesley Robson Labour Priory @CllrRobson
Marcel Choules Labour Priory  
Margaret Clark Labour Alphington  
Moira Macdonald Labour Pinhoe @neBhasikoro
Ollie Pearson Labour Exwick @olliepearson
Paul Bull Labour Cowick @Paul4Cowick
Peter Edwards Labour Whipton Barton @CllrPeteEdwards *
Philip Bialyk Labour Exwick @philbialyk
Rachel Lyons Labour Polsloe  
Rachel Sutton Labour Exwick @CllrSutton
Richard Branston Labour Newtown  
Rob Crew Labour Alphington @Rob4Alphington
Rob Hannaford Labour St Thomas @RobMHannaford *
Roger Spackman Labour Newtown @cllrspackman
Rosie Denham Labour Whipton Barton @rosiedenham
Sarah Laws Labour St Davids  
Simon Bowkett Labour Pinhoe @Simon_Bowkett
Tony Wardle Labour Whipton Barton  
Adrian Fullam Liberal Democrats St Thomas @AdrianFullam
Kevin Mitchell Liberal Democrats St James  
Rod Ruffle Liberal Democrats Alphington  
Stella Brock Liberal Democrats St Davids @StellaBrock8 *
Tim Payne Liberal Democrats Pennsylvania  

* Hasn’t tweeted yet – please encourage!

Updated: Added a few I’d missed that didn’t come up in Twitter search, including the three Conservatives.